

# 2023 DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR **AWARDS**



DATE:Monday, May 8, 2023VENUE:Pleasantdale Château, West Orange, NJTIME:5:30 PMVIP Reception6:00 PMGeneral Reception7:00 PMDinner and Program

#### ATTIRE: Business

**DESCRIPTION:** The **2023 Director of the Year Awards** will recognize excellence in leadership among the boards and directors in New Jersey.

The focal point of the evening will be five awards, where three individuals will be honored:

- Lifetime Achievement in Governance Award
- Leadership in Public Corporate Governance Award
- Leadership in Non-Profit Governance Award

Two awards will be given to full boards who exemplify true vision and excellence in governance for the companies they serve:

- Public Company Board of the Year
- Private Company Board of the Year

NACD advances exemplary board leadership – *for directors, by directors*. Importantly, directors and boards turn to NACD to gain the knowledge and wisdom to become a strategic asset to their companies, and NACD amplifies the collective voice of directors in the national dialogue on board governance issues. NACD is the *Voice of the Director*.

The New Jersey Chapter of the NACD is one of more than 20 chapters in the growing national network. We are the premier organization for New Jersey's corporate directors providing a forum for sharing experiential knowledge, understanding tomorrow's boardroom challenges, and the opportunity to further enhance responsible boardroom leadership.

AUDIENCE: 300+ directors, executives, CEOs, general counsel, governance specialists, professionals, and attendees who respect and admire the accomplishments, the integrity and the ethics of the best of those who serve—out of the limelight—on the corporate and non-profit boards in our region.

2023 HONOREES:

#### S: LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT IN GOVERNANCE

#### Fred Hassan

Director: BridgeBio Pharma, IntegraConnect, Phil, Prometheus Biosciences, Precigen Corporation, Warburg Pincus Former Chair and CEO: Schering Plough Corporation, Pharmacia Corporation Former CEO: Upjohn Inc. Former Chair: PhRMA Former Director: Amgen, Inc., Time Warner, Inc., Avon Productions, Inc., Bausch & Lomb, Theramex and Valeant Pharmaceuticals International Former Member: The Business Council

# 

## 2023 DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR AWARDS



2023 HONOREES:

#### LEADERSHIP IN PUBLIC CORPORATE GOVERNANCE

#### Tim Ring

Director: Becton Dickinson Lead Independent Director: Quest Diagnostics Inc. Co-Founder and Co-Chairman: TEAMFund Former Chair and CEO: C.R. Bard, Inc. Former Chair: Healthcare Institute of New Jersey Former Executive Chair: Bard Former Director: AdvaMed, CIT Group Former Trustee: Foundation of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey Former Member: Business Roundtable, Healthcare Leadership Council, Scholarship Committee of the Delbarton School of Morristown, New Jersey Special Olympics Fund Raising Committee

#### LEADERSHIP IN NON-PROFIT GOVERNANCE

#### Anne Evans Estabrook

Director: National Medical Fellowships, Inc. (NMF) President Council Member: Kean University Fellow: Weill Cornell Medical College Member: Archbishop of Newark's Finance Council Trustee: Monmouth Medical Center, New Jersey Performing Arts Center, RWJBarnabas Health Vice Chair: Rutgers Business School of Management Former President: National Association of Industrial & Office Properties (NAIOP) Research Foundation, New Jersey NAIOP Chapter Former National Chair: NAIOP Former Chair: New Jersey Chamber of Commerce Former Director: New Jersey Economic Development Authority (NJEDA) Trustee Emeritus: Cornell University

#### PUBLIC COMPANY BOARD OF THE YEAR

#### AdvanSix

Erin N. Kane (President and CEO), Michael L. Marberry (Chairman), Farha Aslam, Darrell K. Hughes Todd D. Karran, Dr. Gena C. Lovett, Daniel F. Sansone, Sharon S. Spurlin, Patrick S. Williams

#### PRIVATE COMPANY BOARD OF THE YEAR

#### Turtle & Hughes

Jayne Millard (Executive Chairman), Beverly Jennings, Brad Neilley, The Honorable Governor Donald T. DiFrancesco, Grant L. Gawronski, Kathryn Swintek, Rajendra Rao, Robert Millard

2023 HONOREE SELECTION COMMITTEE: Anita Allen, Chair Emeritus, NACD New Jersey Chapter Christopher Coughlin, 2022 Leadership in Public Corporate Governance Honoree Jeannie Diefenderfer, 2023 DOYA Chair, NACD New Jersey Chapter Peter Gleason, President and CEO, NACD Dr. Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, 2022 Leadership in Nonprofit Governance Honoree Edward Ludwig, 2022 Lifetime Achievement in Governance Honoree Gil Medina, 2022 Private Company Board of the Year Honoree Trish Oelrich, Board Chair, NACD New Jersey Chapter

**CONTACT:** For more information, please contact Conventures, Inc. at <u>NACDNJ@conventures.com</u> or Kristin Hassan, *NACD New Jersey Executive Director*, at <u>Kristin.Hassan@outlook.com</u> | 609-468-9238.

## 

## 2023 DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR **AWARDS**



#### AWARDS

AWARD	2019	2021	2022
Lifetime Achievement in Governance	Shirley Ann Jackson, Ph.D.	William Weldon	Edward Ludwig
Leadership in Public Corporate Governance	Sara Mathew	Patricia Russo	Christopher Coughlin
Leadership in Non-Profit Governance	Josh S. Weston	Doug Conant	Dr. Risa Lavizzo-Mourey
Public Company Board of the Year	Merck & Co., Inc.	PSEG	ADP
Private Company Board of the Year	J.M. Huber Corporation	NJM Insurance	Solix, Inc.

### THANK YOU TO OUR 2022 SPONSORS

